thepnutgallery: (Default)
Boyd, a Twitter friend, had checked in on me a few days ago, and I finally found the time to give a detailed answer. I'm usually on my phone, so my responses have often been less complete than he deserves, but I found time at a keyboard. We filled each other in on some delicate details. I told him about everything that happened in the last year, he noted that he was addicted to meth forever.

At Tim's suggestion, I called the Postal Annex for packing paper. I overshare, and maybe it's the "vegan" in me, but I made sure to tell her it was for rescue feeders. People should follow Albert Schweitzer's advice. When I did log in to work, it was tough to stay focused because I had so many non-work things pressing on me. A week's worth of over half of all claims plus 2.3 digits of mail is a lot on a remote connection. To say nothing of the back of my brain screaming at me all fucking morning that my mice were going to die horribly if I didn't clean their cage THIS SECOND and I'm a horrible Mouse Dad, and they would have been better off being left as feeders....and then Lady Miss Friday being *really* unhappy with me being on the computer. I decided to section it out. I spent the morning on claims (with a small break to lay with her on the bed with her, according to her demands), zipped to the Postal Annex on lunch, cleaned the kid's cage, gave them all crunched up wads of paper to hide, play and chew in, then tucked into the eservice after lunch. Really, I was on kind of a roll, and would have happily kept working for free....I even asked about putting in volunteer hours. An addictive personality doesn't discriminate.

While I was on break, I called my mum. I haven't in a while, she's been posting *a lot* in support of me....and I obviously needed her help with my homework. She did mention that last year was Hell for her, too, so I guess both of our issues started exploding at the same time. She confirmed a lot of Tim's thoughts. Used the exact words that Papa played us against one another. When I mentioned that I worshiped him as a child, she noted he demanded that. And used guilt and shame to control us. I tend to forget that my dad was sort of Diet Racist, if even diet, but she told me that he would insult her Mexican heritage to shut her up in public. He hated people responding "Okay" to a request, and would explode at her when she did... but she learned that, and would use it passive aggressively. Unsurprisingly, she's still on the battlefield, so she also took this opportunity to bash Colleen, but I learned that Papa was initially going to surrender us at start of the divorce because he was so heartbroken. I can't help but wonder what my life would have been like, but I would never say anything like that to my mum.

I also learned some things about me. Apparently FHA's friends who called me a ticking time bomb were not the first by many, many years. She did note that I've always been Harmony Bear, just with much more extreme reactions when I was little. They took steps to try to mitigate the damage from the divorce on me and my brother, according to our situations. Ultimately, we've all of us been dragged down in this poisonous, barbed tangle...that's on fire. I knew I was an incredibly withdrawn child, which apparently was a sudden change that occurred around the first time I was apparently molested. Jared exploded from the various traumas, I wanted to disappear.

But she told me what might be my absolute favorite story about me as a child, as fucked up as that might be. We had Japanese exchange students growing up, and I got along swimmingly with most of them. Actually, since this was before I had any inkling of the gay gravitation towards fabulous women, I had several "girlfriends." But apparently one of the male students was awful. I don't know his name, so we'll just call him Jerk. We were at Faith & Ray's, Jerk was fucking with their dog, Miles, and I'd been asking him repeatedly (in my passive, shy voice) to stop. And then Miles yelped. Faith came running when she heard the yelp and saw my face *change.* I went after the kid, and I wasn't about to not fuck him the fuck up, to borrow a phrase from Lana del Rey. Faith stopped me, but no one had ever seen my temper before. Literally all of my parents were Animal Friends, vicious as a rabid Chihuahua, and Papa had actually killed a fuckton of people as a military operative, so it's not terribly surprising that The Thing to flip me from a painfully withdrawn child into a literal murderous rage would be cruelty to animals. Come to think of it, not a lot has changed.

I didn't end up eating at all yesterday, and despite my stomach rumbling today, nothing sounded edible. I finally had a handful of pretzels in the evening, just to put something in my system. And then smoked and had wine. My tummy got upset after my second glass of wine, though, and I threw up.

FHA messaged me in the evening with a picture of a seal and a pup cuddling together on the beach, and it sent me back to Pinterest to look at even more happy pinnipeds. I don't believe in "enough." We also took that opportunity to catch up a bit. He's had...a week, but it's taking steps to fix things. Shit I should have done decades ago.

I thought the 24 hour wait time for Allan was enough, so I posted Silver Linings to the music group, though only Mitchell reacted. I checked in Bryan Riley and Ashley, listened to it a few hundred more times, watched my happy, happy mice run around their new playground, let Lady Miss Friday out once more.

I was going to crash, but Julian sent me a YouTube video of 2Cellists. I've seen them before - two conventionally if absurdly attractive Bros who are also cello prodigies. He sent the message with the caption "their hot," but when I replied I'd subscribe to their Only Fans, it started a whole thing. He called me, thinking I was under the influence, and insisted he wasn't.... Even when he left to get another beer. It was a reminder of the reasons we broke up.
thepnutgallery: (Default)
Trouble getting up, but I logged in just fine. Refilling the girl's food and water, I smelled ammonia. I figured it was just that their cage needed cleaning, but I kept getting a hint of it all day. A quick Google informed me that it might be due to that lobe damage, might be epilepsy...I guess just wait for the EEG results? I was also nauseous for most of the day, but avoided actually vomiting, and that was probably just dehydration, because it calmed down when I drank some water.

I got a call at 11, but it was The Center instead of my therapist, letting me know that they wouldn't accept the paperwork I did with the therapist over the phone, I had to go through and redo it myself. I started on that when it arrived, and my therapist called shortly after. I made use of the notes Tim gave me last night and kept coming back to it, both to write down something he said, or to check back in on the road map. It was...okay. He's still trying to get me to go sober, which is understandable, but...I'm not really there yet. Tim had talked last night that my using is like StopLeak. It's a patch, but the underlying issues stay festering. That's an oversimplification, of course. It's not like I use to forget that Mommy didn't get me a pony. As I've mentioned before, my using is related (obviously) to my depression and suicidality. It bassically is just a tiny, short term death. And as long as I'm using instead of physically hurting myself or actually tapping out, surely that's a step in the right direction?

We did latch on to a couple new concepts, at least. I guess we sort of knew that my hyper-criticism (particularly re: me) started with my Papa. He never called me a failure, and was proud of me to the end, but he was also the Emperor of Hindsight, and pretty wildly critical even if you had no way of knowing the right decision. He also had literally impossible standards for what our lives should look like. We should be very successful, but not as part of the rat race. We should just be so smart that it...happens. And we found out (as Tim has mentioned before), that I literally don't give myself credit for achieving absolutely anything...except as it relates to others. I kick the can on all of my stuff, but I'm happy with Pupple, Lady Miss Friday, and my mice. Everything else I've always downplayed as either something anyone could do (because if I could do it...) or sheer luck. I give myself either check marks or failing grades. There are no Gold Stars here.

Allan had posted yesterday about lip syncing, and because I'm me, I really just wanted to know what song he performed to. It was "Silver Linings" by Rilo Kiley. I hadn't heard anything from them since The Frug, but I gave it a listen and fell madly in love. I might actually try to set up my living room so I can perform there. Move the couch or something, set up the cameras, etc. I sat there working and listening and fighting off tears for a couple hours. It did finally kick me to start the Playlist: Shoulda Been Big. Songs like Silver Linings and Break (by Adlt Vdeo), where it feels like a glitch in the Matrix that they weren't hits. Unfortunately, after work I happened to catch the very end of the video, and it alludes to the character of her groom killing himself. I'm clearly sensitive to that, and it fucked with me.

Ryan, far more musically knowledgeable about music, was of course already familiar with the song, and with Jenny Lewis's solo and other band work. I actually found out in researching her that 1) she was in Troop Beverly Hills and 2) she performed with The Postal Service.

Warren had also tagged me in a video from The Voice of Kelly performing her new single. It's stellar, and just makes me love her more. My mom was on a tagging spree last night and today, maybe bored or something. One of them said "Whatever it is, forgive yourself. You did your best. Let it go." It's important, if nearly impossible, so I shared it as well.

Bryan asked me to pick up meds for Chris, so I hopped out on my lunch break for that, and deposited my check while I was out. And of course on the way there, I pulled over there, rolled down my window, and pulled down my mask to compliment someone's dog.

Jay messaged me after work, stoned off his ass, but has decided to check on me every day. I asked his advice on weed as well, but that wasn't much help.

Lastly, Tim came over in the evening, since he was in Little Italy already. Pupple had a metric fuckton of energy, but eventually calmed down. Tim and I talked about sobriety, and then moved on to therapy. He pointed out that a lot of Papa's behavior constituted emotional abuse, and that my mum and I both exhibit symptoms of Battered Woman Syndrome. I veritably worshiped my dad, and the only real criticism I ever noticed or mentioned was the rift from my being gay. That's not normal. He's mentioned before that Papa's PTSD ended up inflicting PTSD on us, and after some research, it's apparently considered a subtype of PTSD. Pinning that nail on the head, he noted that Papa played my brother and I against each other. That...makes sense now. But my knee-jerk reaction was to make excuses for him. "Well, if he did, he probably didn't realize it!" Papa was a smart man, and he knew what he was doing. As "homework," Tim asked me to write a list of Papa's flaws in an effort to create a more rounded, 3 dimensional image of him in my head.

Unfortunately, that same nausea from earlier came back after I drank my Crystal Light too fast, and I threw up pretty...explosively. It was the second time I've been vomiting and found myself unable to breathe. Tim was concerned I might have a peptic ulcer or something, and wants me to get checked out. I'm not so great, or even interested, in maintaining my health, so I'm gonna take care of the stuff that's on my plate first, then maybe move on. And then I threw up again after he left.

Profile

thepnutgallery: (Default)
thepnutgallery

May 2022

S M T W T F S
1234567
8910 11 12 1314
15 16 1718192021
22232425262728
293031    

Syndicate

RSS Atom

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 26th, 2026 11:26 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios